Grounding for Black August

 Registration is closed for this event
Black August is a time to remember and commemorate the lives of freedom fighters through study and practice. Rooting ourselves in the revolutionary efforts of past and current prisoners, we will find ways to sharpen our analysis and strengthen our praxis.

Black August is a time to remember and commemorate the lives of freedom fighters through study and practice. Rooting ourselves in the revolutionary efforts of past and current prisoners, we will find ways to sharpen our analysis and strengthen our praxis.


Length, Dates and Times Offered

1 hour, 30 min

August 17th, 2022 3pm-4:30pm PT
August 17th, 2022 5-6:30pm CT
August 17th, 2022 6pm-7:30pm ET

 


By the end of this Circle, participants will leave with...

  • Grounding in the history of Black August 
  • Current prison struggles and how to be in solidarity
  • The significance of rebellions in the African diaspora

This Circle is ideal for:

People that have relationships with prisoners or looking to build them and people looking for ways to join abolitionist struggles.

 


To prepare for this Circle, check out the following:

 


Accessibility:

We'll have ASL/English interpreters and live captioning. Other access requests can be made during registration or by emailing Dustin Gibson at dustin@peopleshub.org.  Requests for interpreters and captioners that are made less than 48 hours before the event typically are more difficult to meet. We will try and notify you if we cannot secure requested access. 

 


Cost:

Free

When
August 17th, 2022 6:00 PM through  7:30 PM
Donation
Free (or Donation)