African Disaporic Practices Embodied in our Political Movements

This Circle event is a conversation that focuses on using indigenous spiritual practices to inform our movement strategies.


African diasporic traditions have become more popular over the past decade. Within these practices, there are still vast amounts of colorism+anti-Blackness, spiritual ableism, and transmisogynoir. Those ideologies are not liberatory, and continue to Other+displace queer and trans practitioners in or movement spaces. This is a conversation that focuses on using indigenous spiritual practices to inform our movement strategies.

 


Length, Dates and Times Offered

2 Hours

August 25th, 2022  3:00pm - 5:00pm PT
August 25th, 2022  5:00pm - 7:00pm CT
August 25th, 2022  6:00pm - 8:00pm ET

 


By the end of this Circle, participants will leave with...

  • A deeper awareness of spirit led liberation efforts that are often led by Black disabled folks.
  • Conversations and practices that are possible when we can openly discuss Black spirituality outside of ableist cultural practices? 

 


This Circle is ideal for:


Black people who are interested in being in community with and learning about spirit-led liberation efforts within Black Radical Traditions.

 


To prepare for this Circle:

 


Accessibility:

Access requests, including interpretation and captioners, can be made during registration or by emailing Dustin Gibson at dustin@peopleshub.org.  Requests for interpreters and captioners that are made less than 48 hours before the event typically are more difficult to meet. We will try and notify you if we cannot secure requested access. 

 


Cost:

Free

When
August 25th, 2022 6:00 PM
Donation
Free (or Donation)
  • Register Participant